Wow, 73 minutes long! That’s a nice long tape. Wilt (US) is a group consisting of two guys playing really dark noise/industrial kind of stuff. They have one of those spidery black metal type of logos and so I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was 73 minutes of dark heavy noise/death industrial kind of stuff rather than 73 minutes of black metal. Now, I like Black Metal a lot, but show me a 73 minute record by Darkthrone, Von, or Burzum and I’ll show you a record that has bonus tracks or something. All of the tracks have gothic emo type of names, and the cover of the release has a gothic emo kind of transvestites/The Crow look to it. Track one, “The Soil Begins To Smother Him,” is a really nice heavy noise track with a dark underlying melody. Builds up over a long period of time to a nice crunch with some other parts fading kind of in and out. The theme of this record seems to be about having an issue with women a little, like how women cause problems and pain maybe, stuff like that. Like I said, kind of a gothic emo sort of feel. The track gets into some nice textures and sounds as it goes on though… dark ambience in a dark warehouse kind of feel, echoing percussive blasts and almost wall-like noise with a propulsive intensity pushing it along very nicely. Long track that is nice and atmospheric, setting the tone for the rest of the release. There is some really nice stuff on this tape, overall it is very chill and provides a good long-term listening experience… a tape that will be on for a little while once you press play.
“A Blanket And The Density Of The Falling Sun” moves things along quite nicely- a forceful and atmospheric track with screeching vocal-like sounds that could also be stabs of feedback. The production is dense, with lush looping synth melodies moving in and out of a ghostly mist that finally fades into a dark industrial void. A slow rhythm pounds and a weird flute-like sounds floats in erratically like a butterfly, flittering about wildly. The track has an exotic feel to it that takes the record even further into its own territory, beyond even the dark industrial sounds of the first track. The organic, jamming nature of the sounds, and the stark production, remind me a lot of the Belgian industrial group Militia. Some up-front vocals come in with a snarling, black metal feel to them. the songs on this release are all pretty long, but there is a steady atmosphere that carries it along throughout the release. The final track on here, “A Small Opening In Her,” has a lot of nice noise and scrapes and stuff, reminding me of dark ambient/death industrial mixing in with a little bit of an old school Black Leather Jesus/Macronympha kind of stuff. It’s a good ending to the first side and really picks things up a bit after the three songs in a row that were kind of similar in mood.
Side two opens with “Slowly Bleeding A Deep Red Syrup Painted With The Hopes And Dreams Of A Fruitless Truth,” and it is just as profound sounding as you would expect from the title. A rumbling wall noise kind of sound crosses with a keyboard wash of ambient minimalist kind of stuff, very pretty actually. Overall this is a very dark and brooding noise release with some really cool ambient touches and an overall old-school approach and sound. It is a really enjoyable tape with a strong atmospheric quality to it, and Danvers State did a great job putting it together as always. Nice, enjoyable release, with some really nice sounds to be found within.
Rating: 4.5/5
Written by: Joseph Gates
Danvers State Recordings (US) – Format: Cassette Limited Edition,C73 – Cat. # DSR36
Genre: Harsh Noise/Industrial
1. The Soil Begins To Smother Him
2. A Blanket And The Density Of The Falling Sun
3. She
4. A Small Opening In Her
5. Slowly Bleeding A Deep Red Syrup Painted With The Hopes And Dreams Of A Fruitless Truth
6. Futility/Breathe
7. To Kill The One She Loves
8. The Nightside Of Eden

Original Link: HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment